SMOY "Battle round" bracket & format announced in head coach category

ELSM Staff Writer                                                      SMOY Awards page

Chapel Hill, NC – The ELSM/NWCA Social Media of the Year (SMOY) Awards, sponsored by Compound Clothing and FlipsWrestling, has released the Battle Round bracket and format in the Head Coach category.


The SMOY awards, founded during the 2012-13 season, are designed to honor individuals who have effectively built their personal and program brands throughout the year on social media.


This year’s Battle Round bracket includes the following head coaches: Brian Smith, Cael Sanderson, Chris Ayres, Chris Bono, Doug Schwab, Glen Lanham, Heath Eslinger, Jason Borelli, Jason Valek, Keith Norris, Kerry McCoy, Kevin Jackson, Kevin Ward, Matt Azevedo, Nick Mitchell, Pat Popolizio, Scott Goodale, Teague Moore, Todd Beckerman, and Tom Ryan.

The bracket includes eight seeded head coaches and a five round Battle Round format designed to determine coaches with a strong social media following.  To access the full bracket (with seeds and match-ups), click here.


“The finalists in the head coach category have done a great job representing our sport in branding the past year,” said ELSM CEO

Coyte Cooper. “Each finalist has established a solid social media presence and this year’s Battle Round voting should be really exciting.”


The Battle Round voting will start on Monday, June 30th with four first round match-ups that will run from 12:00pm-9:00pm: Brian Smith v. Chris Ayres, Keith Norris v. Teague Moore, Jason Borelli v. Glen Lanham, and Todd Beckerman v. Heath Eslinger.


The winners of these battles will advance to the second round, which will take place Tuesday, July 1st.  The match-ups for coaches who advance will take place based on the following schedule (all from 12:00pm-9:00pm).


The Battle Round competition represents a unique aspect of the Social Media of the Year (SMOY) Awards.  The individuals in the bracket will be competing for the title of the “Voter’s Champ,” which will be honored with a framed 16x20 bracket at the NWCA Convention.  In addition, the online voting competition will make up 20% of criteria (10% for vote totals and 10% for creativity of campaign during voting) for determining the overall SMOY Award winners.


The overall winner of the SMOY Awards will be announced at the 2014 NWCA Convention that will take place in Fort Lauderdale, FL from August 1st-3rd.  In addition to a custom FlipsWrestling headset designed by Compound Clothing, the overall winners will receive a custom framed awards poster and will be honored in a feature story that will be housed on the ELSM and NWCA sites.  The top 8 finishers will also earn the honor of being an All-American and will receive a custom SMOY shirt from Compound Clothing.


For more information on the Social Media of the Year Awards, visit the ELSM SMOY page.


About Elite Level Sport Marketing (ELSM)

Elite Level Sports Marketing (ELSM) is a firm that specializes in the development of marketing materials to grow NCAA sport programs.  In addition to the creation of branding development resources for coaches, ELSM also focuses on the delivery of innovative branding seminars for athletic departments, coaches associations, and organizations.  The firm also specializes in social media marketing consulting to help grow organizations.


About National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA)

The National Wrestling Coaches Association, established in 1928, is a non-profit organization for the advancement of all levels of the sport of wrestling with primary emphasis on developing coaches who work in academic environments.   The membership embraces all people interested in amateur wrestling.  The three core competencies of the NWCA are: coaching development, student-athlete welfare, and promotion of wrestling.


Contact for ELSM: Coyte Cooper;